“Impact of therapy in CSA Story 2” by Arpan.

Family background:  I am Vidhyalaxmi. I belong to a conservative middle class family of 6 and we lived in the village for a very long time. Since my parents were unable to fulfill the financial demands of the family, being the eldest, I was sent off to live with my grandfather so that my other siblings could get proper attention and care. I was 10 years old at the time.

Incident:  My grandfather’s friend would often come home. He would give me chocolates and ask me to sit on his lap. Initially I used to be very happy with the thought of receiving chocolates. He would rub me from behind whenever no one was around. Soon I began feeling very uncomfortable with the kind of force he used to apply.  I couldn’t understand what was happening but it made me feel very dirty.

Immediate Impact:  I started feeling dirty from within and had an increased sense of insecurity. I would find reasons to be away from that uncle, but my mother would scold me for being disobedient. Thus, other similar incidents followed when I was touched and couldn’t do anything to stop the abuse.

Long term Impact: I became an introverted person who hated my own body as well as didn’t like anyone touching me. I lost my appetite and so grew thinner. I engrossed myself in books and never interacted with anyone. I would lock myself in the room and resort to reading. Slowly I started finding comfort in loneliness and would feel unsafe around people. When in college, I couldn’t make friends and so I began getting suicidal thoughts, as life seemed worthless to me.

Rescue: I attended an awareness talk on Child Sexual Abuse (CSA) conducted by my college. It was during the session that I was able to relate to the symptoms of CSA. I also learnt that therapy could completely reverse the effects of CSA and could help a victim lead a normal life. I have so far completed 15 sessions of therapy and I feel so much better. I feel a lot more confident. I know it’s not my fault so I have stopped blaming myself and I don’t feel dirty anymore.

( Arpan is a registered organization based in Mumbai with a mission to Prevent the occurrence of Child Sexual Abuse and heal those who have been affected by it.
With passion and conviction and a trained team of dedicated professionals; clinical and counselling psychologists Arpan began working on the issue of Child Sexual Abuse (CSA) in year 2006. Today Arpan works in a focused manner only on CSA. We are thankful for their continued support in this initiative. (Need to source logo)

Site Url: http://www.arpan.org.in/ )

